CPJ celebrates five journalists at the 2023 International Press Freedom Awards

CPJ (Committee to Protect Journalists) il . Brevi, Diritti, Guerre, Informazione, Internazionale, Società

They champion independent reporting despite government crackdowns, kidnapping, exile, and the rising criminalization of their work. On November 16, CPJ will recognize four remarkable journalists with our 2023 International Press Freedom Awards for their invaluable contributions to an informed society empowered with facts.

Togolese journalist Ferdinand Ayité is an investigative journalist and a staunch defender of human rights. He has been one of the most targeted journalists in Togo in recent years—facing persistent legal harassment and threats that have forced him into exile.

Georgian journalist Nika Gvaramia is a TV presenter whose show often featured investigations exposing alleged government corruption and covered allegations of Georgian authorities’ pro-Russian bias. He served more than a year of a 3.5-year prison sentence before receiving a presidential pardon in a case widely considered as retaliation for his work.

Indian journalist Shahina K.K. is a veteran Indian journalist for Outlook India who reports on marginalized communities. She is currently free on bail pending trial on several criminal charges connected to her reporting on alleged police misconduct. Shahina was one of the first journalists in India to be charged under a draconian anti-terror law extensively weaponized against journalists in the country.

Mexican journalist María Teresa Montaño is an investigative journalism powerhouse. She is the founder and editor of The Observer, which investigates corruption, abuse of power, and wasteful spending. In 2021, she was abducted and robbed at gunpoint, demonstrating the brutal violence that reporters face in the country.

CPJ will also honor Knight Foundation’s Alberto Ibargüen, a visionary leader in journalism, with our 2023 Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award. The award is presented annually to an individual who has shown extraordinary and sustained achievement in the cause of press freedom.

Follow the awards on X and on our Instagram stories, and please consider donating to support CPJ’s mission.

CPJ (Committee to Protect Journalists)

Trackback dal tuo sito.

Premio Morrione

Premio Morrione Finanzia la realizzazione di progetti di video inchieste su temi di cronaca nazionale e internazionale. Si rivolge a giovani giornalisti, free lance, studenti e volontari dell’informazione.



logo Un nuovo progetto editoriale e un bimestrale di Libera e Gruppo Abele, LaViaLibera eredita l'esperienza del mensile Narcomafie, fondato nel 1993 dopo le stragi di Capaci e via D'Amelio.


Articolo 21

Articolo 21: giornalisti, giuristi, economisti che si propongono di promuovere il principio della libertà di manifestazione del pensiero (oggetto dell’Articolo 21 della Costituzione italiana da cui il nome).


I link